Finding Strength 

Hey There Followers! 

I know it’s been FOREVER! I don’t have any good excuses. But I’m back, and my plan is to be posting more consistently again because I’ve missed sharing my journey here, plus I’ll have lots to share as I train for my first marathon this fall. So thank you for continuing to follow me.

To get back in the swing of things….

What does strength mean to you? 

Strength to me used to mean that I was strong enough to lift a certain amount of weight, do pull up or any other physical activity. 

But what I’ve learned during my years of fitness is that strength is as much of a mental gain and is as important in your life as physical strength is. 

My fitness journey has never been about weight loss, in fact I’ve gained weight, but has been more about building mental strength more than anything else. Yes I’ve developed muscles, yes I’ve gotten stronger, yes I’ve gotten better at push-ups and pull-ups but what I’ve gained mentally can’t be ever touched. I’m more confident, Im always working toward a goal, I feel empowered , inspired and have a more positive outlook. 

What sticks out to me the most when I think about the last six years of my life is that when I first turned to running I found it was the one thing in my life that I could control. I was on the verge of losing my job at the time, working through a breakup and I just felt a little lost. A year and a half later I felt even more lost, I was even more unhappy with my job, I was going through a bigger heartbreak and I felt like as a 25-year-old, I wasn’t where I thought I’d be in life (expectations are bad I know), but it wasn’t helped that I was overly emotional due to side effects of medication from endometriosis. I used to look in the mirror and I didn’t even recognize the person that was looking back at me. I vividly remember spending half days in my bed crying, which isn’t like me AT ALL. Needless to say my self esteem was at an all time low and I could barely get through an every day conversations without crying. It got to a point where I started seeing a counselor because I didn’t know what else to do. Not many people know that, but it’s part of my story and I wanted to share it because I’m not perfect, I have problems too. 

After about six weeks of talking, I began to realize that the power to change my life lied within myself and between daily journaling and working my way through P90X (90 day strength program)!I was finding my way again. People around me started noticing physical changes (getting toned) but what they may not have seen was the mental changes. I pushed play everyday on my workout even if Infelt sore, I listened to my youngest brothers advice and I started saying yes to more things, to try to discover that elusive happiness and to do things for MYSELF vs for someone else and one thing I did was decide to pursue my MBA (one of the BEST decisions I EVER MADE) and that sent me on a trajectory to change my whole career and subsequently my life and that was in large part to have the confidence and the mental strength to do it. 

I thank the jobs that made me unhappy, the heartbreaks and the tears for leading me to where I am today. 

As a result of my fitness journey I have more positivity, I have a stress reliever, a goal to work toward and am a part of a motivated, encouraging online community which carries over to all areas of my life. 

That’s why I feel compelled to share my journey with others. In the hopes that you’ll be encouraged to say yes to yourself and discover you are capable of so much more. I’m no one special, just a girl who hasn’t given up. 

We are all stronger than we know. 💪🏼

2 thoughts on “Finding Strength ”

  1. Sarah – You are strong and I’m glad you’re realizing this and that it’s something you are sharing because – even during those times – you were strong and you continue to be strong.
    Can’t wait to read more of your posts and hear about things!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

