First Steps to 1000 miles

One week into the new year, and as committed to on my Facebook page, I am writing one blog post a week to share my fitness journey, which will include tracking one of my goals of running 1000 miles in 2017.

1/1-1/8/17 Recap

Sunday 1/1- Happy New Year! My first workout of the year was a Core De Force workout. These workouts are still a fun way to challenge my coordination and feel like a fighter!

My first run of 2017 was on Monday January 2nd. I decided to change up my ‘usual’ route and headed for some hills. My first mile was a steady incline for 330 feet. It was slow and steady but I wasn’t going for speed rather the challenge. During this run I thought a lot about how I made what seems like an ambitious goals with aiming for 1000 miles. But we only grow from our challenges, so I reminded myself that just like running up a hill, I will get to those 1000 miles 1 step at a time.

Tuesday January 3rd, my first day back to work in 10 days! Ugh, I had a really hard time getting up! So I only did about 20 minutes of Insanity Asylum Strength workout. It was better than nothing. I intended to finish the rest of it when I got home from work, but got home late, so that didn’t happen.

Wednesday January 4th I did the “Grab bag:Power” workout by Joel Freeman through Beachbody on Demand. I didn’t have a sandbag so I just used weights. I really liked it though, it was 35 minutes of circuit training.

Thursday January 5th I had an extra hour of time in the morning so I went for a run even though it was 20 degrees out. I was surprised when I started running that I was running an 8:15 pace (my “normal” pace is closer to 8:50-9:00). I have no idea where that pace came from but I was so pumped about it, only to have my watch die right at the end of it! Thankfully the data still saved, because I would’ve been bummed if it didn’t (runner problems!)

Friday January 6th was my last day at my former job, and I went to bed late the night before so had a super hard time getting up. Even an early morning text with my best friend seeing if she was working out too didn’t get me out of bed. I succumbed to the fact that I needed some rest on a day that would feel surreal and maybe emotional. So it became an unplanned rest day, filled with cupcakes and cookies too.

Saturday January 7th became a double workout day (to almost make up for yesterday). My first workout was at a Super Saturday Beachbody event, and after a very informative and motivational morning learning how to grow my coaching business, a group of 50 of us did Piyo Live with a Master Trainer. It was a lot of fun! Throughout the years I have thought about maybe becoming a fitness class instructor, but I am juggling too many other commitments. I talked to my best friend about this (I saw her over the weekend) and her response was ‘of course you would like it, but with what time’ haha. Maybe down the road. But either way it was a lot of fun, because I love Piyo and got great results from it.


Later that afternoon, I visited with a college friend that I haven’t seen in a year and half, and we were able to sneak away from her husband and 2 kids and I introduced her to MMA Speed (Core De Force). Again it was fun to do with a friend.

Sunday January 8th, I was staying with my best friend and we had agreed to go for a run together without realizing that a snowstorm was going through! The roads were COVERED, there were 15 mph winds and it was close to 0 degrees out. But we got 3 miles done, and felt soo much better about our day when we finished up.


Monday January 9th, was the first day of my new job and new schedule when I will be getting home earlier. It was also the first day of my January fitness accountability group. It was the perfect day to start fresh. Over the last few weeks I haven’t been following a workout plan as best as I could be because the routines were 45+ minutes and I wasn’t waking up early enough or the holidays, etc. But there is no benefit in listing excuses, so I decided to just start a new program (p90) in the hopes that the shorter workouts (30 minutes) and new routines would jump start my motivation to get back on track. Plus knowing 6 people are looking at me to be a good example, is keeping on track.

Thanks for reading. Did you make fitness resolutions? How are you doing with them?

One thought on “First Steps to 1000 miles”

  1. Way to go, Sarah! I’ve kept up with my yoga every day and it’s been great so far. I find it’s definitely good to have a program to follow rather than deciding day by day because then I don’t do it (which applies to other areas of my life way too much probably as well).
    Glad things have started off well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

