Resolutions: 2016 Recap & 2017

2016 is officially in the books! Are you glad to see the year over? Was it one of the best years for you? Overall the year was pretty good to me. The first half I achieved some great running goals (at this race & this one) while the second half I had to work through an injury, I started juggling more swim coaching hours, trying a new fitness program, and just getting through a day at a time vs feeling like I am enjoying my life. Looking back on the last few months has made me realize what I really want my priorities to be and it is reflected in my 2017 resolutions (see below).

But first I need to finish up with my 2016 resolutions, and even though these are one of the least popular types of posts I write, I couldn’t go through the whole year and not write an update for December. So for those who are interested, here is how 2016 finished up for me.

to train for a marathon– At this point most of you know this didn’t happen in 2016, but it WILL happen in 2017 as I am officially registered for the 2017 Wineglass Marathon.

to find my true purpose in my career- Throughout the year I have alluded to how heavy this resolution actually is. A year ago when I made it I had hoped that through a course I could discover what kind of job was ‘meant for me’ by becoming more aware of my strengths. I have altered what I talked about in this section for the last few months, feeling like this goal would take me longer than a year to figure out. So I talked about how I decided to become an online fitness coach back in September and about a local leadership program I have been participating in.

But I actually have some news to share, an unexpected opportunity was presented to me a few weeks ago and I have accepted a new job(!!), one I hope will challenge me, where I will continue to learn, and potentially make an impact in my community. It was a really tough decision for me, for so many reasons that I could take up a whole blog post about, but I won’t get that detailed! I lost sleep over the decision realizing how much my life would change. I wrote pro/con lists, I had conversations with my closest friends and my parents and what it came down to was an amazing opportunity was being presented to me now. It means I will cut my commute from 50 minutes to 15, I can buy a house and finally feel settled where I live. It’s going to be a big change, and I am nervous because I don’t fully know what to expect, but I am taking a leap. My first day will be Jan 9th, needless to say 2017 has the potential to be a great year for me.

On another note, to continue sharing about my Leadership program. The first session of the month was on Diversity & Human Services- which focuses on educating us about food insecurity and the local food bank. This was a very enlightening day as I have been lucky enough to never experience food insecurity, but there are so many people in my community that are impacted by it. My group was so touched by some first hand stories of how a community center impacted them, how they all support each other to get to the store to shop, that we want our community service project to support the growth of the center.

The second session was on Business & Industry, we toured a local forklift manufacturing company. They produce 90 forklifts a day via assembly lines, lean business practices and it was really interesting to see how it all comes together. During the second half of the day, we had the opportunity to tour a museum of an International corporation that was founded in my area, and heard from current employees about their various jobs. It got a little technical so I found the museum more interesting. This program is more than halfway over now and will end in March. So only a few more months of these updates 😉

A quick update on my online coaching, I am slowly growing it, I am trying to be consistent but I know there are still room for improvement in order for me reach the goals I’d like. I am excited to work with the small group that is taking steps to a healthier new year.

to treat others better and think before I speak– Overall this resolution was challenging because it didn’t follow SMART goal guidelines, but overall I have tried to be better about this, especially holding my tongue, but I feel it’s had more to do with me just getting older and wiser.

to do things outside my comfort zone– see the above on taking a new job! I can’t think of anything else in December that tops that!

Read 25 books in 2016– This did not happen, this goal turns out was a little too ambitious. I only made it to 16, and have made little progress in 2 months in the current book I am reading. This WILL change in 2017.

to reduce clutter in my life– As I mentioned last month overall I feel I have been successful in this goal, but made no specific steps forward in December. With a new job closer to home I hope to ‘catch up’ on ‘clutter projects’ I have let fall into the ‘someday’ category.

to eliminate excuses and procrastination– Over the last week specifically I have tried to be productive in the 10 days I had off from work, I had a list of things I wanted to get done, and when I was feeling overwhelmed that I wouldn’t get it all done, I just took the time to schedule tasks out on the days and I feel good that after this break I balanced being productive with some R&R.

Overall, reading through these resolutions, I realize I actually fall into the category of most people- that I was very successful with my resolutions but I feel I made a good effort. Some were better than others. Some were easier to track than others. This is the first time I have reviewed my resolutions every month, so it’s been a learning experience that has impacted my resolutions for 2017.

So what did I decide? I wrote up a post a few days ago regarding my running resolutions- which are so easy to track, check those out here. I am very excited to pursue those. Besides those, I also WILL (not want, not hope to, WILL)

  1. Write in my journal at least once a week
  2. Attend church 2 or more times a month
  3. Read 18 books throughout the year
  4. Write a blog post at least once a week, I was doing good on this through July of 2016 but started slacking when I got injured with my running.
  5. Don’t over commit myself, and not feel the need to say yes to everything and everyone and leave room for time for myself.

I want to keep my resolution list short so I can be successful. Did you make resolutions for 2017? How will you stay accountable to stick with it longer than 4 weeks?

This post is long enough, if you have read this far, THANK YOU!! I hope you enjoy following my journey of striving for more in life and the opportunity to grow.

Wishing you a happy and healthy New Year.

One thought on “Resolutions: 2016 Recap & 2017”

Leave a Reply

