Resolution Check In: Month 11

I know I am more than a days behind on getting this written, I had 90% of this written last week but I’ve had a lot on my mind and the days just got away from me.

What this process has taught me is that some resolutions are more tangible than others, and easier to track progress and I will be keeping that in mind when I make my 2017 resolutions.

Being nearly halfway through the last month of 2016, below are the steps (or lack there of) I took toward the resolutions I made nearly a year ago.

to train for a marathon- For those who are new to my blog, I planned to run a marathon, but an injury sidelined me. I plan to register for the Wineglass marathon 2017 within the next 2 weeks.

to find my true purpose in my career- I have been using this space to share my experience with the Leadership Program I am participating in and also sharing my progress as a new online fitness coach.

First for the Leadership program update. I have sessions on the 1st and 3rd Thursday of every month, and each session has a theme. The themes for this month were: Education & Sports/Recreation and Government & Broome County History.

On the Education Day we went to our local BOCES and had a tour of the school and learned about the many different extended learning programs, special needs, non traditional and experiential learning classes. It was really interesting to see the different learning environments. I followed the traditional education route, and was successful, but it made me wonder how I would have done had I participated in a non traditional program. It was great to see how passionate and more engaged students become  when they are enjoying what they are learning.

After BOCES, we had a session with the local AAA Baseball & AHL team Managers. Both of these teams are going through transitions. Our AAA Baseball just was rebranded/renamed and our AHL team will be relocating. We had the opportunity to learn about how the players between the two teams are different, but have similarities when it comes to temporarily living in my area. It was interesting to have a ‘behind the scenes’ talk regarding these teams.

On the 2nd session of the month, we spent the morning with various panels of politicians, ranging from local to state representatives, and getting tours of county legislative chamber and city hall. The various politicians were very busy so after their intros and learning a little bit about them, we didn’t have a long time to ask them questions regarding what they are doing to improve our area and the state. It was clear that they all had a passion for representing their constituents.

During the afternoon session of that day we spent some time at the county library speaking with the Historian and learned about the many resources available to look up people, places and things that occurred over the last 100+ years. It made me wish that I had family that grew up in the area I live in now, so I could do research about them! After that we went to a local art, history and science center & Museum. It was great timing to go there because the whole place was decorated for their Home for the Holidays exhibit- Trees all over the place, garland, lights, etc . It was beautiful, and it was great we got a free admission into AND all received a free yearly membership. A perk of the Leadership program!

As far as my coaching endeavor is going, I feel A LOT better about it than I did in October. It took me a while to realize how overwhelmed I really was and how I probably trying too hard. I am doing much better at not feeling nearly as overwhelmed (most days) by trying to do too much. Plus, I have connected with a few people so I hope this will be a bright beginning. I have accepted that I just do what I can, when I can, vs feeling pressured to HAVE to do something everyday. I know my business will grow more the more time I put into it, but I have to believe that the consistency will pay off. Plus I can focus on quality vs quantity.

I also had a moment when I was listening to a podcast about ‘Vision’, and I got goosebumps when I heard the quote. “The 2 most important days of your life are the day you were born and the day you find out why”, and I am starting to feel like this fitness journey, although has started slow is an avenue which I can help people and help them see they are capable of so much more, not only in their health but their life.

After 3 months of this coaching, I am have grown personally, as I have challenged myself to go outside my comfort zone, have helped 5 people better their health and I am looking forward to seeing where this goes.

to treat others better and think before I speak- I feel like November was a pretty good month for this, it could be because I am juggling so many obligations that I don’t have the energy to argue with someone. I also noticed that I hold my tongue better in a professional work environment vs with my family. I have had a lot of thoughts going on though, that a specific instance doesn’t stand out as to how well I really did on this goal.

to do things outside my comfort zone- Besides the steps I have taken to grow my coaching business, I volunteered to give a leadership presentation to female students at the campus I work at. It was based on the book Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg, which I read earlier in the year. The presentation was called “Lean In: Women, work and the Will to Lead”, I had about 15 students attend, and even though I ended up putting together the presentation kind of last-minute (due to being out-of-town the weekend before I had to give it), it went really well. The students were really engaged, and I wasn’t nervous at all to stand up in front of them, something I HATED to do in college. I was terrible at public speaker 8+ years ago, but have learned over the years that the better I know the material the more confident and comfortable I am to present. This presentation was outside my comfort zone because I haven’t led a learning program before.

Read 25 books in 2016- I did not make any further progress in November, I started a book (GoPro) and even though its only 150 pages, I am only halfway through still. At the end of the day, it just isn’t a priority to me. I know it should be, but sleep is trumping reading at night right now! I have read 16 books so far this year, plus listened to hundreds of hours of podcasts.

to reduce clutter in my life- I look around my apartment and see things that I really want to sort through (tear outs from fitness magazines of workouts, unread magazines, unread or unenjoyable books, etc) and I want to spend time clearing them out. But they aren’t a priority for me yet, but it would be great if I could get to them by the end of the year, I’m adding it to my ever-growing list of “do when I have spare time”. I also added more clutter to my life by registering for a bunch free webinars to gain some knowledge but my email box gets filled up. It’s my own fault, but it definitely was not a step in reducing clutter in my life.

to eliminate excuses and procrastination- If you noticed, I mentioned whether an action was a priority or not throughout November and it’s clear that November was full of excuses and procrastination, I would make a list of things I needed to get done, and it would take me longer to get done than it should have. I feel like everyone goes through phases with this, and even though I felt like I had some months better than others, November was not a good month.

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

