Overdue Running Update & Piyo Review

I don’t even know where to start on this post. It has been so long since I have written about my fitness progress!! I got off track from writing weekly following my running injury. I didn’t feel I had anything worthwhile to write, then I began exploring a new opportunity (which took a lot more of my time than I expected), I was also coaching on a local swim team 4 nights a week. So needless to say time has gotten away from me. This is the first weekend since September that I feel like I am not playing catch up on things that get pushed aside during the week, and I can actually get some things done that I enjoy- like this blog.

So what have I been up to since my last fitness update on the end of September?

  1. I finished Piyo, an 8 week low impact pilates/yoga program. After the struggle of going through an injury, this program gave me a new spark to working out and improving. I woke up earlier each weekday to get the 30 minute workout done before work. This was a huge gain since I have never considered myself a morning person. I have been on this routine for the last 2 1/2 months now and I am slowly starting to become maybe a morning person (what?!). It does feel great to get my workout done first thing.   I started seeing results with this program after two weeks, and it was motivation for me to keep going. When I started this program I wasn’t sure how I would like it since I had never done pilates or yoga before, but the low impact was gentler way to wake up my body in the morning vs a High Impact workout.

So you may be wondering what my results were- I lost 2.5 lbs & around 7 inches overall. I would recommend the program to anyone, especially runners, as it was great for my core, and it increased my hip flexibility. Comment below if you would like more information about it!

(If pictures aren’t appearing go here)

I am purposely not sharing a before and after picture because I read an article yesterday that really struck a cord with me. My progress should not be about more defined abs, it’s about the mental gain, excitement about finding a program I liked and the inches lost. Those are the things that can’t be questioned based on good angles or lighting.

2. Even with Piyo, I have been running but fairly inconsistently. Sometimes once a week, sometimes three times. It varies based on my coaching schedule and the cross-country race series I have been participating in since the beginning of October.

The last miles I ran as a 28 year old! The best birthday gift I could ever get is another year of health!
I wasn’t sure whether I would like the cross-country series, because I have strictly been a road racer since I started running almost 6 years ago. But I signed up with a team and even though I knew only 1 person at first, I met a handful more and looked forward to seeing everyone every week. Here are a few pictures.

I also had a moment when I really appreciate running with a buddy. I have run with friends here and there before, but this particular moment worked out really well partly because it was unexpected. A few weeks ago I was at my college Alma Mater for Homecoming and I had signed up for a fun run which alumni and students were supposed to participate in. However, only me and two other alumni (a couple- Amy & Zack) showed up. It was windy, but actually turned out to be a perfect morning to run- mid-40s. So after the 2 mile run around campus, Amy and I kept decided to keep going and get some more miles in. We ended up running 6 miles- my longest run since the end of July!! Even though we didn’t know each other before the run, we bonded over running and chatted about our lives. We felt great after the run and it was really nice to have someone to run with that morning, it made the time go by so much faster and was a perfect way to start my day.

3. I have registered for my first race of 2017 and started planning out my races for the year! Some may not understand why I pay for someone to allow me to run, but runners know that it’s not about the money, it’s the experience. It’s having an official result of your accomplishments. Plus having a goal race over the years has helped to keep me motivated on days when my energy levels are low.

So far this is what my race calendar looks like:

March 26th: Local 15K
May 7th: Bridge Run Half Marathon (recap from this year)
July 9th: Boilermaker 15k (recap from this year)
Oct 1st: Wineglass Marathon (my first one!)

I may do a few more cheap local races, but I want to see how winter training goes. I am hoping to make it through the winter without spraining my ankle again!

I guess that’s all for now! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

