Improvement: Sept 19th-Sept 30th, 2016

I’m aware that I haven’t been writing as much as I was early this year, but as I mentioned in my last post I want to get back in the habit. In all honesty, I just haven’t felt like I have any thing worth sharing. I have been over thinking many things lately, and my brain just feels a little overwhelmed. If you happen to be overwhelmed too, check out these 11 tips to help overcome it.

Writing has always been my outlet to process, but I just haven’t sat down and done it, even though I know it would make me feel better- it’s a bad cycle!

So this is just a general short update on my workout routine (with pictures, so if you can’t see them, be sure to click here).

In general, over the last 10 days, I have woken up early (6:30ish) to get my PiYo workout done before, and if I am not (swim) coaching I will also workout/run after work.

When I started PiYo I was really skeptical on whether I would get the results I wanted. The first workout (lower body) was 25 minutes and I didn’t even break a sweat, and it wasn’t that challenging. But 3 weeks in and I can now say I have not been this excited about Home DVD program in 4 years, when I completed P90x. At the 2 week check-in I had lost approx 4 inches overall, with 2 inches of that being in my hips (every girls problem area!). I get out of bed every morning with little delay because I am excited to try something new, and the workouts are about 30 minutes long (but clearly effective). They are also low-impact so I don’t have to worry about whether I am waking up my downstairs neighbor.

My schedule has been as follows:

9/19: Core

9/19: Core Day, doing PiYo pedals

9/20: Define Lower Body (Warrior Variations)

9/21: Buns- Various Lunges and Squats

9/21: Buns
9/22: Core


9/23: Define Lower Body

9/24: Rest Day for PiYo, but had a great day running, only my 2nd run for the week. I was short on time, so I started running faster than I have been. Throughout the run I felt the positive impact PiYo is having on my form. My hips feel better aligned, and my stride felt smoother. I FELT like a runner today, and the progression of my improvement can’t be denied. I am not completely back to where I was before, but each day I am getting closer, and I am confident I will come back stronger.

9/25: Sweat

9/26: Strength Intervals

9/27: Sweat in the AM. I had an appointment, so I was home an hour earlier than usual, which mean I was able to fit a run in before heading to swim practice. My plan was to run for 3, but halfway through my legs were feeling fatigued, seeing as I had worked out earlier in the day, I was just going to stop after 2, but then I went for 2.5 and eventually finished up at 3.  It was really nice to have a chance to run outside and clear my head some, and I appreciated the ‘extra’ time in my day, it made me wish for a job closer to home to get the commuting time back in my day.

Still smiling, after doing Sweat in the morning, then 3 mile run after work
9/28: Hardcore on the Floor: This was a bonus video that came with the my order. It is harder than “Core”, but it’s suppose to be! It’s fun to try different exercises.


9/29: I had Day 2 of my Leadership Program today, and didn’t have to be out the door as early as I usually do, so I did “Drench” today vs tomorrow because it’s a 45 minute length workout.

9/30: Buns


Other improvements: Besides the running and thanks to the couple of inches lost already, my pants are fitting better, and my ‘skinny’ jeans, that I had put at the bottom of my pile not thinking I would fit into again, now fit comfortably. That’s not meant as a brag, but rather an example of what happens when I changed up my fitness routine to something new. I took a chance and invested in a new program, and its paying off.  Don’t be afraid to try something new, you may just really like it!

I’d love to help you achieve your fitness and health goals too. Reach out to me on Facebook, Instagram or here

Have a great weekend!

1 thought on “Improvement: Sept 19th-Sept 30th, 2016”

Leave a Reply

