Marathon Training: Update & a Decision

I know I missed sending out an update last weekend but I was out of town with limited internet service, so I just planned to combine Week 10 & 11 of my marathon training into 1 posts.

Over the last 2 weeks a lot has been going through my mind. In my last update I shared that I was having some issues with my hip flexor, had doctors orders not to run and started seeing a physical therapist.  Since then I have seen a PT 3 times a week over the last 2 weeks. My hip feels A LOT better from 2 1/2 weeks ago, but it’s not back to 100% yet.

I have continued to workout- swimming 2-3 days a week, and working upper body. After a couple sessions with PT, I had hoped to get the clear to run but my PT said at least another week. I was so anxious to get back to running that wasn’t being honest with myself/my body to realize just because I was walking around without limping it didn’t mean that I should start running. This wasn’t what I wanted to hear (or admit), but I was reminded by many people in my life that it is better to properly heal than to rush back into running and end up hurt again.

As the date of my marathon has gotten closer and closer, I was trying to figure out whether I could still train well enough to feel comfortable to complete 26.2 miles in 1 day. I hoped to get the clear to run on 8/19, especially since on 8/17 I went all day without discomfort/pain in the hip and that was without anti-inflammatory meds so I’d that things were looking up. But the next day I could feel some inflammation return, my PT session helped some but it didn’t last all day. On the 19th, my PT massaged my hip flexors really well and it helped TREMENDOUSLY and then had a very honest conversation with them about how much longer I should anticipate my recovery especially with the periodic inflammation. I was told that I could continue to exercise and could ‘push my limits’ but still no running. 8/19 marked 30 days until my marathon and I knew I needed to make a decision. Best case scenario I could start running 3 weeks out from the marathon, but even if that were to happen, there was still the risk that my hip flexor wouldn’t be able to handle that level of use.

Since I started seeing a PT I’ve had a hard time accepting that my marathon training plans were getting derailed (runners are a stubborn bunch!). A marathon has been something I have been thinking about for a few years and planning toward since the beginning of this year (as one of my resolutions) and it was difficult to admit that I wouldn’t be able to complete the race. But I also knew that a marathon is not something to take lightly and I knew my body would have to take me most of the way and my will and determination would get me to the end. But without my body cooperating, I knew it wouldn’t be smart to try.

It has taken me these last 2 weeks to be able to accept and now share with others that I will not be completing a marathon on 9/18 as planned. I’m disappointed in myself, but know that I will be stronger because of this in the long run. I still have plans to complete a marathon someday, maybe later this year if I can find ‘the right race’, or there is always next year to try again, and I know I will follow through.

I have read countless quotes and heard enough runners stories to know that running a marathon, something 1% of the population has done, will change your live and many lessons will be learned. Even though I will not be completing this race my lesson right now is that I can’t control everything in life, and listening to my body is more valuable and important than my stubbornness.

“Remember that sometimes not getting what you want is a wonderful stroke of luck” -Dalai Lama

Have you ever registered for a race any not completed it? How did you feel about it?

Good luck to anyone who is training for a fall marathon!

2 thoughts on “Marathon Training: Update & a Decision”

  1. Thank you for posting. I am currently training for my first marathon and this is a tremendous outlook to have. Listening to your body has to be priority number 1. Goodluck on your recovery and you will complete a marathon when healthy if you want to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

